IPL Trophy Winners List from (2008 to 2022)


Indian Premier League:

The Indian Premier league, popularly known as IPL, is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India. It was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2008 and has since then become one of the most popular and widely watched cricket leagues in the world. The league consists of eight franchise teams representing different cities in India, each owned by prominent individuals or business conglomerates.

The IPL is known for its unique combination of cricket and entertainment, which has attracted millions of fans from around the globe. The league is played over a period of about two months, typically between March and May, with each team playing a total of 14 matches. The top four teams at the end of the league stage qualify for the playoffs, which includes two Qualifiers, an Eliminator, and a Final.

The IPL has been a huge commercial success since its inception, with the league generating billions of dollars in revenue every year. It is one of the most-watched sporting events in the world, with an estimated global audience of over 462 million viewers in 2020. The league has also attracted some of the biggest names in cricket, with many international players, including those from Australia, England, South Africa, and the West Indies, participating in the tournament.

Read Also: IPL History

The IPL has not only revolutionized the game of cricket in India but has also changed the way the sport is played and perceived globally. The league has introduced new rules and formats, such as the Powerplay, the Super Over, and the Decision Review System, which have now become an integral part of the game. The league has also brought in new technologies and innovations, such as the LED stumps and the Spidercam, which have enhanced the viewing experience of the fans.

The IPL has also had a significant impact on the Indian economy and society. The league has created numerous job opportunities, from players to support staff, groundsmen to commentators, and has also boosted the tourism industry. The IPL has also been instrumental in promoting the game of cricket among the youth of India and has inspired many young cricketers to pursue a career in the sport.

However, the IPL has not been without its controversies. The league has been criticized for its commercialization of the game, with some detractors claiming that the league is promoting materialism and consumerism. The league has also been embroiled in several match-fixing scandals, with several players and officials being banned for their involvement in illegal activities.

Despite these controversies, the IPL remains a hugely popular and widely-watched cricket league, attracting fans from around the world with its unique blend of cricket and entertainment.

The league has not only changed the way cricket is played and perceived but has also had a significant impact on the Indian economy and society. The IPL is a true representation of the changing face of modern-day cricket and will continue to be a major force in the world of sport for years to come.

Get the complete list of IPL trophy winners from 2008 to 2022, along with the most winning teams. Mumbai Indians have won the IPL five times, while Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders have won the tournament thrice. Discover all the champions of the world’s most-watched T20 cricket league.

IPL Trophy Winners List:

YEARTrophy WinnerRunner Up
2022Gujarat TitansRajasthan Royals
2021Chennai Super KingsKolkata Knight Riders
2020Mumbai IndiansDelhi Capitals
2019Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
2018Chennai Super KingsSunrisers Hyderabad
2017Mumbai IndiansRising Pune Supergiants
2016Sunrisers HyderabadRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2015Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
2014Kolkata Knight RidersKings XI Punjab
2013Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennai Super Kings
2011Chennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2010Chennai Super KingsMumbai Indians
2009Deccan ChargersRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2008Rajasthan RoyalsChennai Super Kings

Most Trophy Winning IPL Teams:

IPL TeamYearMost Wins in IPL
Mumbai Indians2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 20205 Times
Chennai Super Kings2010, 2011, 2018, 20214 Times
Kolkata knight riders 2012, 20142 Times
Deccan chargers 20091 Time
Rajasthan Royals 20081 Time
Sunrisers Hyderabad 20161 Time
Gujarat Titans20221 Time


The IPL Trophy Winners list is a tribute to the exceptional cricket played in the league and the tremendous efforts put in by the teams to emerge victorious. With each passing year, the league continues to raise the bar, and fans can look forward to more exciting cricketing action in the years to come.

Mumbai Indians have won the most titles with a total of five championships, while Chennai Super Kings have won the tournament thrice. Kolkata Knight Riders and Rajasthan Royals have won the tournament twice and Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad have won it once.

Which team won most IPL matches from 2008 to 2022?

Mumbai Indians have won a total of five championship titles in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020 respectively.

Which teams never won IPL?

Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings, and Royal Challengers Bangalore are the only teams to have not lifted the title despite featuring in all 14 previous seasons.

Who is the No 1 captain in IPL history?

Ms. Dhoni of Chennai Super Kings is the most successful captain in the IPL having won 4 titles. csk win-loss percentage is (60).

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *